Saffron tide in DUSU

Saffron tide in DUSU

ABVP wins three of the four seats

undefinedThe Delhi University Students Union (DUSU) elections held on September 13 have shown the first signs of change in India. As predicted by Organiser’s exclusive survey, published in the DUSU special supplement (issued dated September 8, 2013) the nationalist student organisation, Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) swept 3 of the 4 seats. ABVP’s Aman Awana, Utkarsh Chaudhary and Raju Rawat were elected as president, vice-president and joint secretary respectively. The Congress student wing National Student Union of India (NSUI) could bag only                  Secretary’s post.

The election saw a turnout of around 40 per cent. The drubbing for NSUI came just a year after it had swept the students union polls, by winning all three top posts. The campaign this time was dominated by issues such as women security and the new four-year undergraduate programme. Twelve candidates each for the posts of president and vice president, 17 for the post of secretary, and 10 for joint secretary were in the fray for the four major posts of DUSU.

One of the main factors behind NSUI loosing DUSU elections is the widespread anger of youth against the ruling Congress Party. The issues of corruption, insecurity and commercialisation of education were made as poll plank by the ABVP and the Delhi University students have responded to them positively.

Manu Kataria, State president of ABVP, while talking to Organiser said, as compared to last year, this year we focused on strengthening the organisational structure at the college unit level. He further added that today youth are totally disappointed with corruption, price-rise, and woman safety and they want change and the result of this year’s DUSU election is an indication of this.

RSS Akhil Bharatiya Sahsampark Pramukh Shri Ram Madhav congratulated the ABVP on tweeter by tweeting: “Hearty congrats to ABVP for spectacular victory in DUSU polls.” Delhi BJP president, Vijay Goel met the winners and greeted the ABVP candidates for winning DUSU election 2013. He said I envision future leaders in these young individuals. Nirmala Sitharaman, BJP spokesperson congratulated by tweeting: “Well done ABVP in DUSU. Congratulations!”  Shahnawaz Hussain, BJP spokesperson also said that this is the first gift after Narendra Modi’s announcement as Prime Minister candidate.

ABVP candidates attributed their victory to Narendra Modi. Aman Awana, new president of DUSU said “The change will begin now as ABVP has taken the reins of university. Modi is an inspiration to the youth and lot of the credit for our victory goes to him.”This win will surely boost the morale of nationalist forces in the country and can be considered as a step towards change.      Nishant Kumar Azad

Sunday, April 20, 2014
Top 500 News
Terms of use
Privacy Policy
Copyright © by Organiser All Right Reserved.

Image Gallery